Octavio Salles Photography

Photo Tours in Brazil

Some new photos and a welcome

Posted by campossallesfotografia on 31 de May de 2010

This is my first post, welcome to my blog! Here I will post not only news regarding my nature photo tours through Brazil but also some post-processing tips and videos, last-minute trip offers, new photos and other stuff. For my first post I chose to post some photos I made this weekend at Reserva Guainumbi, a private nature reserve in the Atlantic Rainforest, about 3 hours from my city, Campinas, in São Paulo State, and a place I often take clients to.

Mottled Owl (Strix virgata)


I have been looking for this owl for over 3 years. I often heard it not only in the Atlantic Rainforest but also in the Pantanal, but attracting this large nocturnal predator within photographic range is difficult, as they are often quite wary. This time however luck was on my side. The right playback voice attracted it instantly under the clear, full moon night. It perched on various trees around me and I even made some photos with a cleaner background, but I also liked this one, the look of the owl is just great I think.

Brown Tinamou (Crypturellus obsoletus)


Photographing tinamous is like the ultimate goal in neotropical bird photography. They are the ghosts of the forest floor. You often hear their beautiful whistled songs echoing through the forest, but actually seeying one is a total different matter. These are as wary a bird as a bird can be. You may see one fleeting on a trail, but that’s it. So for this photo I had to be patient. I waited on a hide for several hours and finally got my prize. I intentionally left the image a bit underexposed, as that’s what the forest floor look like.

Brazilian Ruby (Clytolaema rubricauda)


A male Brazilian Ruby visiting a native Fuchsia flower. My multi-flash setup is made with Pocket Wizards, so that my guests may also use it, whatever brand camera they have, as long as it has a hot shoe or a flash sync port.


Are they tame? You bet, not only tame but numerous too.

Violet-capped Woodnymph (Thalurania glaucopis) and Scale-throated Hermit (Phaethornis eurynome)


Two species in the same frame is a constant thing there.

Scale-throated Hermit (Phaethornis eurynome)


I like the bird position in this one.

Sharpbill (Oxyruncus cristatus)


This former cotingid (now in a family of its own) is a difficut bird to photograph, as they are quite uncommon and always at the canopy. This was the best I could get this time and, for this species, I was quite pleased with it.

Now I gotta start packing my stuff for the Pantanal next week. Talk to you later.

Leave a Reply

 
